What is he thinking? How is he feeling?

Today, whilst waiting for someone on an errand, I noticed a person nearby, that seemed different to you and I. Listening carefully, I observed he was non-verbal, and only able to communicate through noise, and sound, as well as visual communication. He sounded tall, about 6 foot, adolescent, or even adult, and had a deep voice,  but I knew there was a difference neurologically. I think he had autism. Okay, Let’s not back away from this person, as anyone else would do, back away and run. let’s understand the man. How is he feeling? What’s he thinking? What does he want? What are his vocalisms telling us? He’s waiting for something, and knows who or what he is waiting for, is not happening. His thoughts may have been as follows:

“Why are we still waiting? What is going on? I’m sitting here, and nothing is happening. Something is meant to happen, and it hasn’t.” So, after a short while, of what sounded to me like agitation, the carer, or the man’s mother, takes him away from the area they were previously in, and walks him to the window. Describing what was going on outside it, people who should have been fixing building work, not doing the job. This excited the man, turning his vocal tone from agitation, to one of enjoyment, and excitement. Beginning to laugh now, he started to attempt words with the lady, and they moved off down the passage, observing pictures on the walls. She again, described them, and he joined in enthusiastically. His agitation from before, had vanished, and he was much calmer.

This was a very interesting experience for me, as I felt nervous around him, I’ll be honest, but I made the effort to understand, to try to ascertain how they themselves are feeling. What a very interesting experience.

About samantha ash

I'm 24 years old, totally blind, and suffer from Epilepsy, which is controlled. My interests include Neurology, Psychology, anything to do with the weather, and other documentaries. I am also a classical singer, though not professional. I am studying towards a degree in Neuropsychology at University of Central Lancashire. I wish eventually, to pursue a career in neurorehabilitation, or in neuropsychology, in order to help those who have sustained traumatic brain injuries, Acquired Brain injuries, stroke, and other neurological conditions. I wish to help them to cope psychologically too, and help them to see the positive side to the life that they have now. As someone with a disability myself, I wish to tell those, "Do not say that you cannot do something. I do not wish to hear that. I wish to hear that you can, and you will succeed." If you enjoy what I post on here, feel free to comment, or contact me on samanthaash1993@gmail.com or feel free to like my facebook page. http://www.facebook.com/alifewithoutsight Enjoy reading. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What is he thinking? How is he feeling?

  1. I don’t even like children most of the time but I sure loved working with those. sounds weird to prefer autistic kids but I really do!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I used to work with an autistic class in their PE hour and it was one of my favorite jobs I’ve had. I also helped an autistic boy read his braile books, another job I really loved. I miss doing that. I love interacting with autistic kids and watching the differences from one kid to the next. I seemed to be good at it and I think some of he kids liked when I was in class with them. if I were to teach as a profession that’d be the group i’d teach.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

