Drama, emotion, do I show it?

Hello all. I have started reading The Skeleton Cupboard, by Professor Tanya Byron, which charters her years where she undertook her training, and lectures, in order to become a psychologist, as well as some of the many experiences both good and bad she faced. I had no idea, when starting to read this book, what was in store for me. I guessed it would be a mix of good and bad, but never as severe as I thought it would be, for someone only my age now, starting out. Okay, I’m still doing my degree, and haven’t thought about placements, or anything yet. I’m leaving that till much later on. Then I think, what will be in store for me? I then hear the words of my friend, a psychologist who is blind, “Are you brave enough to explore and experience things Samantha? Are you brave enough to face having to explore your own weaknesses, and parts of your psychey that you wouldn’t normally want to go too?” Oh goodness, I thought. What will I find? What will I not want to explore? I suppose there will be times where I will think, really? Did I really think that? Do I really feel that? Why? While reading Tanya’s book, tears filled my eyes, when I read Chapter 2, detailing a traumatic experience in someone’s life. I thought in the end, it would be okay, thought they would manage to get to the bottom of it, but the ending was much more heart breaking. I knew by the end of the chapter, or a bit before, that it was her, and she was preventing something, but wasn’t saying what. When the answer was revealed, I almost cried. The words she was using, so sweet, and so gentle. I wanted to cry, but as others were in the room, I could not. Even if I was on my own, I would still force myself not too. I’ve tried this for a few years now. I know I should show emotion, as if I didn’t, there would be something very wrong. I really felt for this person in her book, knew something so heart breaking had happened. Knew she wanted to prevent it, and thought the only way was…. I won’t reveal in case those studying psychology want to read the book. I will put the link underneath. When it comes to psychoanalysis, I do believe in some of their theories, such as the fact some things stem from further back. I do find Anna Freud, very interesting, but what I want to know is, why did she have an interest in blind people? What for? I still haven’t found the answer. Here is the link for the book. Enjoy.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/1447261666/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1634&creative=19450&creativeASIN=1447261666&linkCode=as2&tag=professortany-21

About samantha ash

I'm 24 years old, totally blind, and suffer from Epilepsy, which is controlled. My interests include Neurology, Psychology, anything to do with the weather, and other documentaries. I am also a classical singer, though not professional. I am studying towards a degree in Psychology with counselling with the Open University. I wish eventually, to pursue a career in neurorehabilitation, or in neuropsychology, in order to help those who have sustained traumatic brain injuries, Acquired Brain injuries, stroke, and other neurological conditions. I wish to help them to cope psychologically too, and help them to see the positive side to the life that they have now. As someone with a disability myself, I wish to tell those, "Do not say that you cannot do something. I do not wish to hear that. I wish to hear that you can, and you will succeed." If you enjoy what I post on here, feel free to comment, or contact me on samanthaash1993@gmail.com or feel free to like my facebook page. http://www.facebook.com/alifewithoutsight Enjoy reading. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

