I’m sorry Hopkins, but there are people worse off than you.

Having read Hopkins’ article on fearing that she will “die” during brain surgery, which, by the way, is done almost every week. This particular surgery, to say the least, is probably becoming a norm to most neurosurgeons. It means that they will have to bring her round, during surgery, ask her to perform tasks, such as speaking, to allow them to locate parts of the temporal lobe, Broca’s region, Wernicke’s region, or other lobes near the speech area, that they are trying to avoid. If speech slurs, they avoid that particular area. In my opinion, she should stop trying to look for sympathy. A 40% chance they won’t get rid of the epilepsy completely, a 20% chance she’ll lose the use of one side of her, IE her left arm and leg etc, and a 1%, yes 1%% chance she’ll die. 1, not 21, 20, not 50! Honestly! There are people who go in for brain tumours to be removed, aneurysms to be clipped, or coiled, as they are nowadays (Marsh 2015) hoping against hope, the aneurysms, don’t burst while they’re on the table, hoping they don’t bleed to death, and all she can speak about is whether she’ll die, or lose the use of a limb? I’m sorry, and I’m sorry if I cause offence here, but there are people, much much worse off than you. Underline the numbers 20%, and 1% here. They are not 100%, or 50%!!!

((Marsh.H,) “Do No Harm, Stories of Life, Death and Brain Surgery” 2015)

(Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books; Edition: 1st) (May 26, 2015))

Available from:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Do-No-Harm-Stories-Surgery/dp/178022592X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1438424121&sr=8-1&keywords=Henry+Marsh

About samantha ash

I'm 24 years old, totally blind, and suffer from Epilepsy, which is controlled. My interests include Neurology, Psychology, anything to do with the weather, and other documentaries. I am also a classical singer, though not professional. I am studying towards a degree in Psychology with counselling with the Open University. I wish eventually, to pursue a career in neurorehabilitation, or in neuropsychology, in order to help those who have sustained traumatic brain injuries, Acquired Brain injuries, stroke, and other neurological conditions. I wish to help them to cope psychologically too, and help them to see the positive side to the life that they have now. As someone with a disability myself, I wish to tell those, "Do not say that you cannot do something. I do not wish to hear that. I wish to hear that you can, and you will succeed." If you enjoy what I post on here, feel free to comment, or contact me on samanthaash1993@gmail.com or feel free to like my facebook page. http://www.facebook.com/alifewithoutsight Enjoy reading. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

