What would i tell my (past) self?

If there was a chance, or an opportunity to turn back time, and salvage many of the friendships I could perhaps not have lost, I would like too. You are probably wondering, as the title suggests, What would I tell my (past) self. What would I stop her doing? Prevent her doing? Observe, evaluate. The would tell her the following:

To my college self:

•Being defensive is okay, but why do you feel you have to over defend? What are you defending?

Who are you defending?

Why? What are you protecting? 

For what reasons? Do you always need to defend?

When is defence overstepping the line.

•What is making you anxious? Frustrated? 

Why are you frustrated? What are you struggling with, that you perhaps don’t want to admit you’re struggling with?

•You feel threatened, or that someone is using their authority in a way you do not like, who, and why?

•You must respect they are in an authoritative position, IE, a teacher, or a warden, so you must comply, no-matter how much you disagree. That would make my past self annoyed, defensive, agressive: “Why should I? They should not be bossing me around.” would be my usual past self’s response.

all these questions, I’d have asked the Samantha, who attended Hereford. I would have also wondered, would her leaving home, have contributed, but even so, that’s not an excuse.

Questions, and perhaps more questions, as I get further on in my studies, evaluating past experiences. What do you all think? For once, I end my blog with a question, not a fact, statement, or answer. I’ll let you do thats

About samantha ash

I'm 24 years old, totally blind, and suffer from Epilepsy, which is controlled. My interests include Neurology, Psychology, anything to do with the weather, and other documentaries. I am also a classical singer, though not professional. I am studying towards a degree in Neuropsychology at University of Central Lancashire. I wish eventually, to pursue a career in neurorehabilitation, or in neuropsychology, in order to help those who have sustained traumatic brain injuries, Acquired Brain injuries, stroke, and other neurological conditions. I wish to help them to cope psychologically too, and help them to see the positive side to the life that they have now. As someone with a disability myself, I wish to tell those, "Do not say that you cannot do something. I do not wish to hear that. I wish to hear that you can, and you will succeed." If you enjoy what I post on here, feel free to comment, or contact me on samanthaash1993@gmail.com or feel free to like my facebook page. http://www.facebook.com/alifewithoutsight Enjoy reading. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What would i tell my (past) self?

  1. SDMF says:

    Sam, you have a better future and access to professional friends that wish to promote that future.
    Use them wisely – they wait patiently as it’s all about building trust.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jill liley says:

    Hi Samantha, being twice your age, all I can say is you are where you need to be at this time. Sounds a bit new age, but it’s true. It’s sad to lose friends, but I bet if you were to meet them again, they would hardly recognise you. I believe you meet the people you need to meet at any one time and they either support you or teach you lessons. I too regret not keeping up friendships, but no more than I miss being young and minus aches and pains and being able to swim in the sea or river in the winter without feeling mortally cold. That was then, this is now. Enjoy your life now Samantha, it’s full of exciting possibilities, and enjoy the company of your family. One day you will miss them.

    Love Jill xx

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

