Curiosity

Today, was a day we’ll all remember for many years to come, not just because of memerable events in our own lives, but because someone made history. That someone, was Major Tim Peake. The inspiration for this post. He has inspired a lot of people down here, and I don’t know if he is aware yet.

I awoke this morning, to hear that the launch of the capsule that was carrying him, another man called Tim, and a russian person, up to the International Space Station, was being launched at 11:03 AM UTC.

T minus 2 minutes, and they were preparing. 20 seconds, 10, 9, 8, and so-one. Then, the words were said. They had gone. Off into space, up to the international space station. They had to complete 6 hours of what would seem to us, like pure torture, 5 Gs of GForce, meaning you were 5 times heavier than on earth, probably being squashed against your seat, intense nausea most likely, and goodness knows what other awful affects. Would you feel it rotate as you went into each of the four orbit stages you had to complete before arriving? What would you feel like? What would it sound like? Would there be pressure in your ears, all over you. Would you feel quite litterally, squashed. It takes 6 years of training, so how many give up because they can’t handle the pressure? How many give up because their body can’t handle the G-force? The strength? The feeling of weightlessness. What is that like. All interesting questions I started wondering, asking myself, who would know the answers? Who could I ask. Would they explain it all? I’d be keen to know. I’ve studied space a little in Physics, stars, planets, black holes, gravity etc, but nothing as interesting as the questions I want to know the answers too. I want to know the answers from the point of view of someone who’s been there, done that, got the shirt. So, for anyone reading,

Is it noisy up there in the Space Station? What does a tube of water feel like? What does water feel like floating up in front of you? What does it feel like floating from one room to another? How do you sleep? How do you eat, drink. Can you Skype your families down on Earth? How do you communicate?

Do you get spectacular views of the northern and southern lights, as well as solar eclipses, and other astronomical events? What about thunder and lightning. Obviously, you won’t hear the thunder, but the lightning would be something else. Something we couldn’t even see. A show, more spectacular than a lightning storm could produce down here, and we even think that is good? Think again.

All I can say, is wow! My interest has been fired up, but only because I’m curious. That’s all 🙂 That’s all 🙂

 

I am sorry for any errors in this post that I may not realise I have made regarding measurement units etc.

About samantha ash

I'm 24 years old, totally blind, and suffer from Epilepsy, which is controlled. My interests include Neurology, Psychology, anything to do with the weather, and other documentaries. I am also a classical singer, though not professional. I am studying towards a degree in Neuropsychology at University of Central Lancashire. I wish eventually, to pursue a career in neurorehabilitation, or in neuropsychology, in order to help those who have sustained traumatic brain injuries, Acquired Brain injuries, stroke, and other neurological conditions. I wish to help them to cope psychologically too, and help them to see the positive side to the life that they have now. As someone with a disability myself, I wish to tell those, "Do not say that you cannot do something. I do not wish to hear that. I wish to hear that you can, and you will succeed." If you enjoy what I post on here, feel free to comment, or contact me on samanthaash1993@gmail.com or feel free to like my facebook page. http://www.facebook.com/alifewithoutsight Enjoy reading. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

