stories of Warwick

Friday forth March, and we were off to the airport, heading off to Manchester, for a weekend in Warwick for my open University course. No surprise, our flight was delayed. While we waited, we got the mail, and tried to complete the crossword contained within it. Some words were easier than others. Suddenly over the loud speaker, came the news we were dreading. Our flight had been cancelled due to weather conditions at Manchester. Beginning to feel my eyes well with tears, I walked briskly downstairs with the person guiding me, my heart racing. This was my dream of meeting my lecturers over, my dream of meeting my friends who I met on faceBook, over, my potentially good opportunity over. There was nothing I could do. It was all out of my hands. All I could do, was wait and comply. I was then informed, we were on the flight to Bermingham. It was all okay. We’d get there in the end. It was a blessing,as we were nearer.

 

Eventually, upon arrival at the university, we were met immediately by the professor, I was then greeted by my friend from another module. Dinner was then being served in the restaurant further down the corridor. After dinner, I had an evening lecture, on Skinner. Getting my iPad and Bluetooth keyboard, I sat at the desk, ready to make notes, and follow to the powerpoint that I had received. The next day, was an early start, up at 7:30, and breakfast. Lectures were at 9 AM,and the first one, was on statistics. So far, I was coping well. No problems at all. Break wen fine, and I went to my mid morning lecture, again on stats. Lunch was was fine as well, with nice roast potatos and gravy, though I struggled to get them onto my fork. After lunch, we preceded back for our penultimate lecture on statistics. By this time, I was feeling overwhelmed. I suddenly burst into tears. Asking the lecturer to stop, I told him, “I just don’t get it! I just don’t understand it at all!” My eyes streaming with tears, I carried on listening, but it didn’t help. After the lecture, he came up to me in the lounge, and askd if I was okay. By this time, I was very happy, as my next lecture, was about Brocca and Wernicke. I had also bought a book, on OCD, Obcessive compulsive disorder. I had made a lot of frends, and by the time the weekend was over, I was sad tosay goodbye. I had also exchanged contact details with a few of them too. One of the lecturers was so pleased with my knowledge, h asked personally, if I wanted to return in September for the taster weeked for my next course, Science of the Mind. I could not have asked for anything better! Thak you to everyone involved. I appreciate it greatly.

About samantha ash

I'm 24 years old, totally blind, and suffer from Epilepsy, which is controlled. My interests include Neurology, Psychology, anything to do with the weather, and other documentaries. I am also a classical singer, though not professional. I am studying towards a degree in Psychology with counselling with the Open University. I wish eventually, to pursue a career in neurorehabilitation, or in neuropsychology, in order to help those who have sustained traumatic brain injuries, Acquired Brain injuries, stroke, and other neurological conditions. I wish to help them to cope psychologically too, and help them to see the positive side to the life that they have now. As someone with a disability myself, I wish to tell those, "Do not say that you cannot do something. I do not wish to hear that. I wish to hear that you can, and you will succeed." If you enjoy what I post on here, feel free to comment, or contact me on samanthaash1993@gmail.com or feel free to like my facebook page. http://www.facebook.com/alifewithoutsight Enjoy reading. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to stories of Warwick

  1. Jill Liley says:

    So glad you had a great time Samantha. It’s all a bit overwhelming going to new places, but you coped very well. Onwards and upwards!

    Like

Leave a Reply

