Another post on Echolocation

Yet again, I must address the issue of Echolocation.

 

Yesterday, while browsing facebook, I came across, yet another article on Echolocation. This article details the same technique taught to a lot of young children without sight, by an American. This technique I thoroughly disagree with as I stated previously. Why do people not understand that in my opinion, making a clicking noise, in public, is highly antisocial and unacceptable, and would cause many sighted people to view you as “Odd” Do  we really wish people without sight to be stigmatised by the techniques we are teaching them to live independently? I don’t think so! Do we really wish to put them in danger of not using a cane and depending on the sonar? Do we fail to mention in the media, that they are in fact, using a cane while walking, and making the clicking noise, so it’s not as remarkable as it sounds? Yes, we failed at that. Yes, we’ve failed to mention, that in the media, canes should always be used. If you are on the edge of a deep cliff face, with a drop hundreds of feet down, are you going to rely on sonar? Clicks won’t save you. It’ll be a cane, and the wind. The wind blowing around you, and the fear inside you knowing you’re seconds from falling if you took one more step forward. The fear of not having a sighted guide with you then to take you away from the situation. So, what are you going to do? Carry on letting the media lead you into this false allegation, that sonar clicking is the magic bullet that will make you see your world around you? Are you going to be sensible and use a cane, and just accept, the fact you will have to use your sense of touch, smell, hear, and taste. Most of all, please, make them focus on their listening skills. Make them focus on the air bouncing off buildings and tall objects. Which way is it going? How fast? This will tell you what kind of object it is whether it’s bricks, or wood. If it’s wood, you may smell the paint they use to paint wood. You may touch the rough splintered material if you wish. You may, pop up your cane and hit the object once or twice to get a feel of the height of the offending obstacle. Think of all these things, when you next see an article on echolocation. I’m sorry to disagree, but it’s not all it’s made out to be folks. Really, it’s not.

About samantha ash

I'm 24 years old, totally blind, and suffer from Epilepsy, which is controlled. My interests include Neurology, Psychology, anything to do with the weather, and other documentaries. I am also a classical singer, though not professional. I am studying towards a degree in Psychology with counselling with the Open University. I wish eventually, to pursue a career in neurorehabilitation, or in neuropsychology, in order to help those who have sustained traumatic brain injuries, Acquired Brain injuries, stroke, and other neurological conditions. I wish to help them to cope psychologically too, and help them to see the positive side to the life that they have now. As someone with a disability myself, I wish to tell those, "Do not say that you cannot do something. I do not wish to hear that. I wish to hear that you can, and you will succeed." If you enjoy what I post on here, feel free to comment, or contact me on samanthaash1993@gmail.com or feel free to like my facebook page. http://www.facebook.com/alifewithoutsight Enjoy reading. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

