IOS, or Android? Decisions.

I was recently given the opportunity to try out my aunts phone, as while she was there, I decidded to ask her about it. The particular phone in question was a samsung Galaxy S6 Edge. After establishing how to turn on voice Assist, Samsung’s screen reading software, she handed me the phone. Nervously, I began using it, flicking around the screen as I would with IOS. It was so far, determining to be very successful. I would like a phone similar to this, I thought.

 

With that, the next morning, I tweeted my local phone store, yes,  tweeted them, and asked them about Samsung phones. They gratefully put aside a Samsung Galaxy A3 for me to collect, as I could not afford any higher. Eagerly, I went to collect it, and began my shock transition to Android, after being an IOS user for at least 5 years. What was so simple at first, was to be a persevering and frustrating challenge. I would end up switching back and forth, from one device, to the other, which was in some cases, good, but did it really help my decisions get any easier? Did asking for quantitative data results on Facebook, about whether you preferred IOS or Android, as well as asking for qualitative data results, be any good either? My decisions were still hard. Getting round the phone was easy, learning the gestures, (the way you navigate around the device) was easy enough, some more frustrating than others, coping with a few buggy apps like messenger and twitter were perhaps, easy to deal with, but would I be able to read PDF documents, (books for university for example.) That would be the real pass or fail. I got an old textbook out of my archive from last year, and copied it to my device, and after having to download Adobe Reader off the Play store, (wait, download a PDF reader? Seriously!)  I began the laborious navigation around the app. This was not going well. Not at all. The synth, the voice, the reading ability,  the gestures for reading, awful. Not recommended, unless you want to have to keep shaking your device every page turn. Um, No thanks. I want a nice smooth automatic page turn, thanks. I then took my device out on the road. Let’s go on the route to my singing lesson. Luckily my aunt was taking me today, as if I’d gone by bus, I’d not know where I was. For a start, google maps was not telling me where I was turn by turn, as IOS does, I tried to start it in driving mode, which was again unsuccessful. Pretty rubbish really. Oh, and planning a route? Don’t ask. Awful. Ugh! No, just no. So,, will I keep my Galaxy you all ask? Yes, I will, for accessibility testing purposes, and as it’s a darn good phone as a backup, should my primary device break on me. But for now Apple, You’ll be pleased to know, one of your loyalists still stands by you,, and no matter even if I did switch, I still love all your stuff anyway, as I still have a Macbook air, and iPad Mini4.

About samantha ash

I'm 24 years old, totally blind, and suffer from Epilepsy, which is controlled. My interests include Neurology, Psychology, anything to do with the weather, and other documentaries. I am also a classical singer, though not professional. I am studying towards a degree in Neuropsychology at University of Central Lancashire. I wish eventually, to pursue a career in neurorehabilitation, or in neuropsychology, in order to help those who have sustained traumatic brain injuries, Acquired Brain injuries, stroke, and other neurological conditions. I wish to help them to cope psychologically too, and help them to see the positive side to the life that they have now. As someone with a disability myself, I wish to tell those, "Do not say that you cannot do something. I do not wish to hear that. I wish to hear that you can, and you will succeed." If you enjoy what I post on here, feel free to comment, or contact me on samanthaash1993@gmail.com or feel free to like my facebook page. http://www.facebook.com/alifewithoutsight Enjoy reading. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

