If at first you don’t succeed…

What do you do when your chances of striking lucky at your desired career goal are minimal? The following is what you do, but this is what I did.

2013. A nervous looking lady of about 20 years old is waiting in the waiting area to speak to a neuropsychologist. Her desired career goal, is neuropsychology. She has come to the neuropsychologist, for her input and advice.

Finally, she is called and proceeds, with her sighted guide, into the room. “Hello. I basically wanted to ask you about your job really. What does it entail? What would I have to do? Could I do the job?” her response, was  something along the lines of that it would be quite visual and neurorehabilitation would suit me better.

At that present moment, the student had no-one really to contact, not even in the neuropsychology field, or anywhere. She was at a loss, or was she?

A few weeks later, and in the middle of an essay she is writing, she goes onto twitter. Finding a professor’s tweet, the president of the BPS, British psychological society at the time, she checks his profile and sends a message. “Good morning. My name is Samantha. I am totally blind, and eventually wish to become a neuropsychologist.” was the message, or a varient of that. Shocked to find a response, she read. It was full of enthewsiasm. Wow! This person has offered to back me, watch my journey, follow my progress? I can’t believe it!

But still, the olympic fight was still going on. SLT, was then recommended by someone to her. Off she went on the hunt for SLTs. First the RCSLTs were contacted. Asking them what they could offer, she waited for a response. The response, bleek and pesimistic. Again, the word visual had come upp. They said it was probably difficult.

Not wanting to give up, she continued the search, and found the head of SLT at her local hospital. Unfortunately, they were not forthcoming. Nor was the SLT after that, explaining that she would have to assess people for disphagia if she became an SLT. “I can do that. I possess a stethescope!” She exclaimed. It was not enough.

Asking Headway about neurorehabilitation, she waited, but they too did not know anything. Directing her to RNIB, they wished her good luck in her studies. But was the desired career and person who could help, right under her fingertips metaphorically speaking? Were they hiding somewhere and she just wasn’t searching hard enough. A few years later, and she was at home, browsing facebook, when she came across something. Someone had put something up. Looking more closely, she messaged the person involved. Finding out that they were the only company to treat people with brain injury in terms of neurorehabilitation on the Island, she found out, she had struck gold! The very person she wanted to find all along to gain experience, was able to help her, and as was she able to help them.

That student wanting that career in neuro-rehabilitation, is me. I found that person, I struck gold, I am awaiting the adventures and challenges that await me. Bring them on! The more I learn, the better, and the more I can offer my help in return, as one favour doesn’t go without a favour in return, the better. I will continue to study hard, go off on the olympics of searching and tracking people down if necessary, in order to get my desired career, helping others along the way, and all I can say to those who are helping me already, is a huge thank you. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. Neuro is where my heart is, where my heart lies, and it always will be. Thank you so much. Thank you so far, to my tutors, to the professors, and others watching my progress, it means so so much. Please feel free to follow, share, and read this blog. Once again, thank you. Thank you.

About samantha ash

I'm 24 years old, totally blind, and suffer from Epilepsy, which is controlled. My interests include Neurology, Psychology, anything to do with the weather, and other documentaries. I am also a classical singer, though not professional. I am studying towards a degree in Psychology with counselling with the Open University. I wish eventually, to pursue a career in neurorehabilitation, or in neuropsychology, in order to help those who have sustained traumatic brain injuries, Acquired Brain injuries, stroke, and other neurological conditions. I wish to help them to cope psychologically too, and help them to see the positive side to the life that they have now. As someone with a disability myself, I wish to tell those, "Do not say that you cannot do something. I do not wish to hear that. I wish to hear that you can, and you will succeed." If you enjoy what I post on here, feel free to comment, or contact me on samanthaash1993@gmail.com or feel free to like my facebook page. http://www.facebook.com/alifewithoutsight Enjoy reading. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to If at first you don’t succeed…

  1. Duncan Ross says:

    A nice little read on an early Saturday morning. Well Done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

