Yesterday’s amazing day!

Yesterday could not have gone any better! It started off a little later than planned. Feeling nervous, I waited, then heard the sound of the engine pull up. Going out to the car, and starting off on our journey, I was wondering, what can I expect. Upon arrival, I was met by the manager of the care team, plus the team of carers, with whom I’d be assigned too. Shaking hands, and briefly telling them, that I had no vision at all, we made our way up to the house, where I was to finally meet the client. I was also greeted by 4 bouncy dogs, sniffing at me. It was lunch time, and for the client, soup was the meal for the day. How nice too. Actually, funnily enough, it was a kind I like too. There was just one difference and one that I would now have to learn fast. Feeding, and the technique behind it. Now do excuse me for the incorrect spelling here, but feel free to correct me, but the term is bolas feeding. I had to learn a special technique, using a tube, and syringe. Nervously, I followed the carer’s every instruction, and step by slow step, obeyed. Shaking slightly, with well, nerves, plus excitement, at the fact I’d never done such complicated work before, and work that required such precision and concentration,, as well as no room for error, I was counting on myself to get it right. Finally, I achieved what was asked of me. I had however, made sure though, that I ended up doing that task every time we were required too. The carer had jokingly said to me, Sam, you’ve made sure you are doing it now. You seem to be more confident than I was when I first did it. You just walked in, and did that! Yes, I thought, I did. Walk in, and do something as professional as that? I think I have bragging rights. Hahaha. Only joking everyone. That chore over with, it was off out somewhere, for a drink of tea, or, well, what ever took your fancy. Again, I was thrust into the spotlight, proving once again, my skills. This time, out in public. When the lady who took me on as a volunteer saw what I’d done, she was amazed. Very pleased with my efforts. I didn’t even expect I would be doing that on my first day, lettelone outside too. Now, I just have to prove myself for a little longer, and then hopefully, who knows. All I can say is, a huge thank you, to everyone involved yesterday. It means so much. 

About samantha ash

I'm 24 years old, totally blind, and suffer from Epilepsy, which is controlled. My interests include Neurology, Psychology, anything to do with the weather, and other documentaries. I am also a classical singer, though not professional. I am studying towards a degree in Psychology with counselling with the Open University. I wish eventually, to pursue a career in neurorehabilitation, or in neuropsychology, in order to help those who have sustained traumatic brain injuries, Acquired Brain injuries, stroke, and other neurological conditions. I wish to help them to cope psychologically too, and help them to see the positive side to the life that they have now. As someone with a disability myself, I wish to tell those, "Do not say that you cannot do something. I do not wish to hear that. I wish to hear that you can, and you will succeed." If you enjoy what I post on here, feel free to comment, or contact me on samanthaash1993@gmail.com or feel free to like my facebook page. http://www.facebook.com/alifewithoutsight Enjoy reading. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

