The leap of faith

2008, and a lady was about to meet two people, one without vision, and the other, a very protective person, who would, undoubtedly worry for her granddaughter. What this lady did not know, as she was travelling in her car, to the highschool, is that she’d have battles to fight, not with one, but both of them in the months and years to come. Not just that, this girl, with no vision, who had not been allowed to use a cane until now, the age of 15, was about to give everyone, a taste of strong-willed determination, that may lead her into some dangerous, and some good teretory. She was about to go on her first mobility lesson, and this was to be learning how to use the cane, a long white cane, with a ball on the end. 
A few months later, and after constant battles with her, over practising the route they were doing, the small 15 year-old, now 16, was off, on her own. Suddenly, someone notices, she is veering away from the tactiles, and into the main road. Running to stop her, the lady asks her, what she’d done wrong.
Years later, and the now 24 year-old, after coming through struggles of being diagnosed with epilepsy, stripping her of her confidence, and also not practising her routes, nor living skills, finally, could someone, an unlikely group of people, have come to her rescue at just the right time? Come to her familys’ rescue? Come to most importantly, her nan’s rescue? This group, The VIP Lounge, a group, who strives for the independence and confidence to shine in visually impaired people around the country. A group, who will stop at nothing, to get them the independence skills, and help they require, while also helping the indevidual to build their confidence, and social skills. While sometimes facing rebellion from either family members, or the indeviduals themselves, it does not bother them, it does not phase them. They still strive to help them, and do not give up, until success is achieved. This group, came to her rescue, and have now begun working with her, her nan, and other various people, to help her in her endeavours. It will be no cruise, no easy ride, no smooth seas. There will be storms to weather, and arguments, possibley frustration from this person, this person being me, but I shall have to deal with whatever challenges are thrown at me, with grace and dignity, and most of all, acceptance. The existential view, that life, well and truely does, have a meaning, behind everything. Behind every page in the book, there’s a piece of prose, behind every piece of prose, lies the question, and behind that, the essay of which, is your answer.
Now, I must take that leap of faith, off that cliff edge, with my metaphoric carabiner, attached to an absaling rope, and see where I freefall, either down to an abiss below, or I will manage to get myself over to the other face, where I will climb to the top, having reached my goal of becoming a neuropsychologist. Before that though, there is that leap of faith, and I have no choice, but to leap into the unknown, but embrace it, and brace myself, for anything life throws at me. 

About samantha ash

I'm 24 years old, totally blind, and suffer from Epilepsy, which is controlled. My interests include Neurology, Psychology, anything to do with the weather, and other documentaries. I am also a classical singer, though not professional. I am studying towards a degree in Psychology with counselling with the Open University. I wish eventually, to pursue a career in neurorehabilitation, or in neuropsychology, in order to help those who have sustained traumatic brain injuries, Acquired Brain injuries, stroke, and other neurological conditions. I wish to help them to cope psychologically too, and help them to see the positive side to the life that they have now. As someone with a disability myself, I wish to tell those, "Do not say that you cannot do something. I do not wish to hear that. I wish to hear that you can, and you will succeed." If you enjoy what I post on here, feel free to comment, or contact me on samanthaash1993@gmail.com or feel free to like my facebook page. http://www.facebook.com/alifewithoutsight Enjoy reading. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

