Conflicting advice.

Previously, we begun to see on this blog, my aspirations, to become a neuropsychologist, from learning about the brain via my own neurological condition, epilepsy, and learning it the hard way, as well as reading books by the Late Oliver Sacks, listening to documentaries, that would undoubtedly keep me absorbed for hours, feeling moddels of the brain, the giri and sulci that are visble on the moddels too, known to you or I, in English, as (gruves, and folds) Then the more complex conditions, excited my interests, Traumatic Brain Injuries, Acquired Brain injuries, autism, Parkinsons', Savant syndrome, (a condition where those affected, usually have autism, and profound cognitive impairements, as well as blindness, or hearing impairements) encephalitis, and the conditions in that group, etc, as well as esencial tremor, and MS. MND was also in my list of interests, as well as cerebral palsey. What, you may ask, was the conflicting advice? Well, I have been asked, on a number of occations, are you sure you want to take this 12 year journey? Do you not want to think lower in terms of aims? I have been asked this by professionals. My answer, a categorical never. Yes, that may sound stubborn, but if one person, in the psychological profession, gets into neuropsychology, and indeed, herself has a disability, (that word I can't stand using) I will get there. I feel, in my opinion, one with such challenges, as blindness, and epilepsy, though controlled, will be able to endeavour to understand the people walking through the doors, as well as try to answer parents'/carers' questions, if necessary. From the point of view, of someone with that challenge. Yes, there is the ethical boundary, of telling them you yourself, have epilepsy, or are blind, but in some ways, it may make them more at ease, because they may think, "Ah, she may understand. She will not study me, always watch me, through eyes that judge always on the outside, never able to look in. Never able to understand, because they do not have it. They do not deal with it. They, therefore, cannot walk in my shoes, where she however, can." I believe that to be the case. I hope eventually, to work at the likes of the Walton centre, Headway, or the Priory,, even develop a similar centre like Headway on the Iom, as I feel it needs it. Yes, you have stroke nurses, and all the neurological nurses, bar epilepsy, but we need something in one building, with one speciality, under one roof, that can help everyone with neurological conditions, with a team of appropriate people. There is already one neuropsychologist for the nhs, but why not another, for such an ambitious plan as this, when I get qualified. Who knows, as I ask in a title of one of my other posts. What indeed, does the future hold? That is yet, to be discovered. Yet to be told.

About samantha ash

I'm 24 years old, totally blind, and suffer from Epilepsy, which is controlled. My interests include Neurology, Psychology, anything to do with the weather, and other documentaries. I am also a classical singer, though not professional. I am studying towards a degree in Psychology with counselling with the Open University. I wish eventually, to pursue a career in neurorehabilitation, or in neuropsychology, in order to help those who have sustained traumatic brain injuries, Acquired Brain injuries, stroke, and other neurological conditions. I wish to help them to cope psychologically too, and help them to see the positive side to the life that they have now. As someone with a disability myself, I wish to tell those, "Do not say that you cannot do something. I do not wish to hear that. I wish to hear that you can, and you will succeed." If you enjoy what I post on here, feel free to comment, or contact me on samanthaash1993@gmail.com or feel free to like my facebook page. http://www.facebook.com/alifewithoutsight Enjoy reading. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

